Just another WordPress site

Lotte’s Mr All-Star was a dream…two crucial home runs brought tears to his eyes

The KBO All-Star Game was held at Sajik Stadium for the first time in 16 years. It drew a full house of 22,990 spectators. However, there was no ‘Mr All-Star’ from Lotte.

The 2023 Shinhan Bank SOL KBO All-Star Game was held at Sajik Stadium in Busan on the 15th. LOTTE sent nine all-star players to the game.온라인바카라

Starting pitcher Park Se-woong, middle reliever Koo Seung-min, closer Kim Won-joong, second baseman Ahn Chi-hong, third baseman Han Dong-hee (replacing SSG’s Choi Jung), shortstop Noh Jin-hyuk, outfielder Kim Min-seok, designated hitter Jeon Jun-woo, and catcher Yoo Kang-nam, who joined the team as a manager’s pick.

Lotte is also the team that has produced the most Mr All-Stars in history. It all started with Kim Yong-hee, who won MVP honours in the 1982 All-Star Game after hitting three home runs, including a grand slam. Kim Yong-hee also won the All-Star Game MVP in 1984, followed by Heo Kyu-ok in 1989, Kim Min-ho in 1990 and Kim Eung-kook in 1991.

Park Jung-tae won back-to-back All-Star Game MVP awards in 1998 and 1999, while Chung Soo-geun won the honour in 2004 and 2007 and Lee Dae-ho in 2005 and 2008. The Lotte “tradition” was continued by Hong Seong-heon in 2010, Hwang Jae-gyun in 2012, Jeon Jun-woo in 2013 and Kang Min-ho in 2015.

On this day, five former Lotte Mr All-Stars – Kim Yong-hee, Kim Min-ho, Kim Eung-guk, Heo Kyu-ok and Jeon Jun-woo – took part in the ceremony.

However, Lotte’s Dream All-Stars went 4-8. Park Se-woong, who started the game, gave up a leadoff double to Chae Eun-sung in the bottom of the first inning, then faltered when he walked Choi Hyung-woo on a pitch that was right at his body, before giving up a towering three-run homer to Socrates Brito. He didn’t appear to be throwing hard, as most of his fastballs stayed in the low 90s.
Reliever Koo Seung-min was also knocked out by the decisive blow. In the bottom of the fourth inning, Koo gave up a single to Park Gun-woo and a double to Park Dong-won, and two batters later, he walked Lee Jung-hoo to load the bases. A 141-kilometre fastball to Chae Eun-sung was followed by a grand slam to left-centre field, giving up a quick 0-8 lead. It had been 41 years since Kim Yong-hee hit an All-Star Game grand slam in 1982.

Instead, Lotte players dazzled fans with their performances. Kim Min-seok, who “copied” BLACKPINK’s Jenny’s dance, Noh Jin-hyuk, who appeared in a prosecutor’s uniform, and Yoo Kang-nam, who appeared as “Sajik Kim Soo-hyun,” performed various performances to the delight of the fans who filled Sajik Stadium.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *