Just another WordPress site

South Korea, who won six of the last seven, breaks the LPGA winless chain in Singapore

The consecutive winless chain of Korean players on the LPGA tour is broken this time. The stage is this week at the HSBC Women’s World Championships in Singapore.

The HSBC Women’s World Championship will be held at the Tanjong Course (par 72) at Sentosa Golf Club in Singapore for four days from March 2nd. Twelve Korean players, including Ko Jin-young and Kim Hyo-ju, threw a challenge at this tournament, in which 66 players compete for a total prize money of 1.8 million dollars (2.37 billion won).

This competition has been held since 2008 and has been held every year except for 2020 when there was a corona19 pandemic. In the early days of the tournament, there were no Korean players winning except for Shin Ji-ae in 2009. Then, after 2015, the strength of Korean players continued. Park In-bee won the competition in 2015, and Jang Ha-na won in 2016, continuing the lineage of consecutive victories. Then, Inbi Park rose to the top again in 2017, becoming the only player to win the event twice. 스포츠토토

After Michelle Wie West (USA) won the championship in 2018, Korean players continued to win. In 2019, Park Seong-hyun rose to the top, followed by Kim Hyo-joo in 2021 and Ko Jin-young last year. Since 2015, Singapore has become the ‘promised land’ of Korean women’s golf, to the extent that Korean players have won six championships in the past seven years.

Since Jeon In-ji won the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship in June of last year, Korean players have not been able to announce their victory in the LPGA Tour. Still, at the Honda LPGA Thailand, which ended on the 26th, Ko Jin-young tied for 6th place and Kim Hyo-joo tied for 10th place, signaling the possibility. The performances of the two golfers in the world’s top 10 were enough to raise expectations for the HSBC Women’s World Championship. In addition to these two, Jeon In-ji, Kim Se-young, Choi Hye-jin, Lee Jeong-eun 6, Ji Eun-hee, Kim A-rim, Shin Ji-eun, Choi Woon-jeong, Yang Hee-young, and Anna Lin were listed on the list. JTBC Golf will broadcast all rounds of the tournament live. Round 1 will be broadcast from 11:30 am on March 2nd.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *